Gaudiya Math devotees and Swamis

Bhakti Ballabh Tirtha Goswami  I  Bhakti Dayita Madhava Goswami  I  Bhakti Pramode Puri Goswami  I  Bhakti Raksak Sridhar Dev-Goswami  I  Bhakti Ratnakara Sadhu Swami  I  Bhakti Sridhar Govinda Swami  Bhakti Sundar Govinda Goswami  Bhakti Vaibhava Goswami  Bhaktivedanta Narayan Maharaj  I  Bon B.H. Swami  I  Kesava Goswami Maharaja  I  N.K. Sanyal  Vamana B.V. Swami

The Gaudiya Math  was formed on 6 September 1920, about 30 months after Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati Thakuratook sannyasa, the renounced order of life. On 7 March 1918,  the same day he took sannyasa, he established the Sri Chaitanya Math in Mayapura, later recognised as the parent body of all the Gaudiya Math branches. Its purpose was to spread Gaudiya Vaishnavism, the philosophy of the mediæval Vaisnava saint Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu, through preaching and publishing.

From the beginning of Sri Caitanya's bhakti movement in Bengal, devotees, including Haridasa Thakur and others, whether Muslim or Hindu by birth, have been participants. This openness and disregard for the traditional caste system received a boost from the "broad-minded vision" of Bhaktivinoda Thakura, a nineteenth-century magistrate and prolific writer on bhakti topics, and was institutionalized by his son and successor Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati Thakura in the twentieth-century Gaudiya Math.

By the time of the founder's death (1 January 1937), the Gaudiya Math had established 64 branches.   Most were in India, but preaching centres were maintained for a time in Burma, England and Germany.

More info in the book : Our Family the Gaudiya Math