7 Wonders of India: Lepakshi Temple

See video

Built in the 16th century, the Lepakshi Temple is a brilliant example of the Vijayanagar style of architecture. It has a huge complex where three shrines dedicated to Lord Shiva, Lord Vishnu and Lord Virabhadra are to be found, Lord Virabhadra being the wrathful form of Shiva, the patron deity of the Nayak rulers. It has a central pavilion, embracing all the three shrines. This pavilion is further connected with an intermediary hall and a hall for ritual dance. Surrounding the main hall is a large open court, accessible from the east.