The Seven Temples of Vrindavana Part 1/2

See video

The Seven Temples of Vrindavana.

There are numerous temples in Vrindavan and the seven main temples were established by the six Gosvamis or their disciples; who followed the traditions of Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu. Here are the seven major temples in Vrindavan:

Radha Madana Mohana Temple - Sanatana Goswami discovered the deity of Madana Mohana and this was the first temple to be built in Vrindavan. The original deity of Madana-mohana was taken to Karauli for protection during the Muslim attacks led by Emperor Aurangzeb in 1670.
Radha Damodara - The original deity was carved by Rupa Gosvami and gifted to disciple, Jiva Gosvami, who built this temple.
Radha Syamasundara - This is one of the lesser known but very important temples as the deity was manifested from Srimati Radharani's heart and given to Syamananda to worship.
Radha Ramana - "Radha Ramana" means "one who gives pleasure to Radha", and Radha Ramana is one of the few original deities still left in Vrindavan. Radha Ramana is said to be self-manifested from one of the Goswami’s saligram silas in 1542.
Radha Govinda - This temple was built by Maharaja Man Singh and the original Govindaji was reinstalled in Jaipur during the Muslim attacks.
Radha Gokulananda - This temple has a Govardhana shila gifted by Lord Chaitanya to Raghunath Dasa Gosvami and is believed to contain the thumbprint of Lord Chaitanya. The temple also has Radha-Vinoda deities of Lokanatha Gosvami, Vijaya Govinda of Baladeva Vidyabhusana and Viswanath Chakravarti's Radha-Gokulananda deities.
Radha Gopinatha - Gopinatha was first installed 5,000 years ago by Vajranaba, Lord Krishna’s grandson, and rediscovered at Vamsi-vata by Paramananda Goswami.

Other Popular Temples in Vrindavan

Banke Bihari was built in 1864 and is one of Vrindavan's most popular temples. It is said that Swami Haridasa discovered the Bank Bihari deity in Nidhuvana.

The Krishna Balarama Mandir is also known as the Hare Krishna temple as it was built by the International Society for Shri Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON). The deities house here are Krishna and brother Balarama, Radha Shyamasundara and Gaura Nitai. The samadhi of Swami Prabhupada is also built here.